As the Coronavirus cases still appear to be increasing in certain states nationwide, Northeast states are taking measures by asking travelers to self-quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival home from traveling. According to ABC7, If you are traveling to New Jersey from California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas or Utah, you must self-quarantine.

The Northeast states including New York, Connecticut and New Jersey, made it very clear that regardless of the kind of travel (I.e plane, car, or bus) the self-quarantine is still a highly encouraged course of action for those who chose to do so.

Now while the quarantine is not mandatory, it is still heavily encouraged by the states, and state officials involved. Officials say that the advisory does not apply to any individuals who are just passing through the states for a limited time. For example, stopping at rest stops for vehicles, buses, and/or trains; or layovers for air travel, bus travel, or train travel are all exempt.

One of the ways certain states are trying to enforce this recommendation is by asking for people who know others who may be violating the self-quarantine to report them. Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont said, “What we're going to do is go to every travel agent and say, 'From these regions don't come to Connecticut unless you get tested first or know you have to quarantine. We're going to go to all the hotels, every single site there, let people know from those states you have to quarantine if you come to Connecticut."


Shoppers Flood ShopRite Amid Coronavirus Pandemic


More From 94.5 PST