Is It Legal To Smoke Weed In Public in New Jersey?
The weather is finally getting warm and so many people are just ready to hang outside and enjoy the start of the summer weather. It’s the perfect time to get your friends together and plan that TikTok-worthy picnic you’ve been promising yourself you’d have as soon as the weather got warmer.
If that involves hitting up your local dispensary beforehand to grab something to take the edge off before relaxing on your beach or park picnic, there’s one question you have to get the answer to first. Can you actually smoke weed in public in New Jersey? The answer is a little more complicated than just yes or no, so let’s break it down.
Is it legal to smoke weed in public in New Jersey?
New Jersey’s state site states that marijuana can be consumed on private property or in dispensaries licensed and zoned for onsite consumption. There are plenty of public areas that do ban smoking in New Jersey, which means it’s actually illegal to smoke, vape, or even eat marijuana products in that specific area.
Is it legal to smoke weed on Jersey Shore beaches or in New Jersey parks?
Unless there is a marked smoking area in either a park, beach, or on the boardwalk in New Jersey, smoking vaping or even eating weed products are illegal and you could risk getting fined.
Is there a fine for smoking weed in public in New Jersey?
Since it’s illegal to smoke in public areas that are not deemed “smoking areas”, The Smoke-Free Air Act states that if you are found smoking weed or even tobacco products in a smoke-free environment, you could face up to a $250 fine for a first offense, $500 fine for a second and a $1,000 for third and subsequent violations, according to inquirer.com.
Overall, smoking or ingesting weed products should be done in private areas instead of parks, beaches, boardwalks, etc. You must be 21 or older to consume marijuana products in New Jersey and remember that driving high is still impaired driving, so enjoy responsibly!