If You Warm Up Your Car in NJ, You Could Be Breaking the Law
It's not officially winter yet, which means we've got at least three or four months of cold months to come. And many people like to warm up their car before venturing out into the cold. If you're on those people, you may be breaking the law.
NorthJersey.com reports that there is an obscure law in New Jersey that says that if your car is parked for 3 or more hours, you can only leave it idling for more than 15 minutes when the temperature is lower than 25 degrees. Believe it or not, the law even applies if your car is parked in your own driveway.
So, wait, if it's 26 degrees or warmer that morning, is it illegal? We think so.
Plus, that means if you start your car with an automatic starter or manually at 7:00 am, you have until 7:15 am to dry your hair, make a cup of coffee, and eat a bowl of cereal. Once 7:16 am hits, you are breaking the law and could face a $250 fine. The fine goes up to $500 for a second offense and $1,000 for any subsequent offenses.
By the way, a few months ago, we told you about another New Jersey law that you may not be aware of. Click here to find out more.